Arctic News

The Arctic is a vast, icy region located at the northernmost part of Earth, encompassing the Arctic Ocean, adjacent seas, and parts of eight countries: Canada, Finland, Greenland (Denmark), Iceland, Norway, Russia, Sweden, and the United States (Alaska). Characterized by extreme conditions, including long periods of darkness and light, and predominantly cold temperatures, the Arctic plays a critical role in the global climate system. It is home to a unique diversity of wildlife, including polar bears, seals, and Arctic foxes, as well as indigenous peoples who have adapted to the harsh conditions over thousands of years. The Arctic is also a focal point for significant geopolitical and environmental issues, such as territorial claims and the impacts of climate change. Rapid warming in the Arctic is causing the ice to melt at an alarming rate, threatening the habitat of native wildlife and increasing the potential for new shipping routes and resource extraction, thus raising environmental and sovereignty concerns.